American Trades Index Get my free pay report

How to get an electrician license in Arkansas

Requirements, license levels, and the issuing authority, sourced from Arkansas's official board.

Statewide licensing via Board of Electrical Examiners.

Issuing authority: Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners, Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing (Code Enforcement). Official page: https://labor.arkansas.gov/labor/code-enforcement/electrical-inspection-and-licensing/

License levels in Arkansas

Arkansas electrician licensing at a glance

RequirementsApplicants apply to take the electrical exam via the online portal; the Board sets experience standards for each class and registers apprentices. Specific hour figures not stated on the official page fetched.
ReciprocityReciprocal agreements for journeyman and master licenses with: Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin.
RenewalAnnual. Ark. Code § 17-28-301(b)(1)-(2) provides that licenses expire on the date indicated on the license and may be renewed for a period of one year, with fees set per year by class. Continuing education: Ark. Code § 17-28-311(a) requires a journeyman electrician, residential journeyman electrician, master electrician or residential master electrician licensee to complete at least eight (8) hours of continuing education for the current National Electrical Code cycle in the first year of each new code cycle before renewing. Board rule 17 CAR § 210-1202 requires all eight hours to be Board-approved instruction relating specifically to the National Electrical Code; no other subject area is mandated. A licensee who simultaneously holds an electrical inspector license is exempt from continuing education under § 17-28-301(a)(6)(B). Annual fees under § 17-28-301 are $50.00 for master electrician and residential master electrician, and $25.00 for journeyman electrician, industrial maintenance electrician, residential journeyman electrician and specialist sign electrician (with parking-lot endorsement). Late renewal costs one year's fee plus $10 per calendar month late; a lapse of more than 36 months requires retaking the examination plus a $1,000 penalty.
NotesStatewide licensing via Board of Electrical Examiners.

What are electricians worth in your market?

A free report on your market: what the trade pays, how that compares with nearby counties, and where your credential sits against the local licensed workforce. No account needed.

Thanks, we'll be in touch.
Something went wrong. Please try again.

Common questions

Do you need a license to work as an electrician in Arkansas?
Statewide licensing via Board of Electrical Examiners.
What electrician license levels does Arkansas have?
The levels are Master Electrician, Journeyman Electrician, Residential Master Electrician, Residential Journeyman Electrician, Air Conditioning Electrician, Industrial Maintenance Electrician, Electrical Apprentice (registration).
How do you get licensed as an electrician in Arkansas?
Applicants apply to take the electrical exam via the online portal; the Board sets experience standards for each class and registers apprentices. Specific hour figures not stated on the official page fetched.
Does Arkansas have electrician license reciprocity?
Reciprocal agreements for journeyman and master licenses with: Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin.

Related

Supply
How many electricians in Arkansas
Appliance Repair Technician
Appliance Repair Technician license in Arkansas
Boiler Operator
Boiler Operator license in Arkansas
Elevator Mechanic
Elevator Mechanic license in Arkansas
Fire Sprinkler Fitter
Fire Sprinkler Fitter license in Arkansas
HVAC
HVAC Technician license in Arkansas
Plumber
Plumber license in Arkansas
Sheet Metal Worker
Sheet Metal Worker license in Arkansas
Sign Electrician
Sign Electrician license in Arkansas
Hub
All Arkansas trades pages

Sources: labor.arkansas.gov, labor.arkansas.gov, codeofarrules.arkansas.gov. Always confirm current requirements with the issuing authority.

This number changes tonight.

This page is a free snapshot of Arkansas. Track the same market every night and see which contractors just got licensed, added a trade, or dropped off, and pull the full record, with contact details where available, on any of them. Get the weekly intelligence email on the markets you follow. ATI is in private beta; apply for access.